LONGO

INFO

LONGO

BIOGRAPHY

Child, Alfredo Longo has fun painting, drawing and decorating the walls of his parents’ house.

During his schooling, he became passionate about sketching and drawing classes, which eventually led him to enroll in the Binche Academy of Fine Arts. He enters by directly accessing the third year on a global curriculum of five years.

Learning oil painting on canvas allows him to perfect his hyperrealist style and discover new techniques such as “the art of claw” that he will exploit on different media. Winner at several painting competitions, he finishes his academic course with the highest distinction.

From the 1990s, the transition to sculpture is manifested in works and bas-reliefs in painted plaster, paper and cardboard. Nevertheless, after two years, Alfredo was forced to abandon large works for lack of space, so he devoted himself to painting only until the 2000s.

It is in 2005, that it renews priority with the creation of sculptures that it realizes in part in wood and welded metal parts of recovery. The first concrete works include bulls, horses and robot characters.

Sensitized by the overconsumption that strikes our industrialized societies, Alfredo Longo appropriates a usual material rich in colors: the drink can known to all, compressed and formatted according to its concept “Transform’ArtKompress ®”.

Today, his monumental art is mainly oriented towards the reconscientization of the public to the notion of recycling and to the quest for meaning of the role of the artist in contemporary society.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

LONGO

BIOGRAPHIE

Enfant, Alfredo Longo s’amuse à peindre, dessiner et décorer les murs de la maison de ses parents.

Durant sa scolarité, il se passionne pour les cours de croquis et de dessin, ce qui l’amène par la suite à s’inscrire à l’Académie des Beaux-Arts de Binche. Il y entre en accédant directement à la troisième année sur un cursus global de cinq ans.

L’apprentissage de la peinture à l’huile sur toile lui permet de perfectionner son style hyperréaliste et de découvrir de nouvelles techniques comme « l’art de la griffe » qu’il exploitera sur différents supports. Primé lors de plusieurs concours de peinture, il termine son cursus académique avec la plus grande distinction.

A partir des années 1990, la transition vers la sculpture se manifeste par des œuvres et bas-reliefs en plâtre, papier et carton peints. Néanmoins, après deux années, Alfredo est contraint d’abandonner les œuvres volumineuses par manque de place. Il se consacre dès lors uniquement à la peinture jusque dans les années 2000.

C’est en 2005, qu’il renoue prioritairement avec la création de sculptures qu’il réalise en partie en bois et en pièces métalliques de récupération soudées. Les premières œuvres concrètes sont notamment des taureaux, des chevaux et personnages-robots.

Sensibilisé par la surconsommation qui frappe nos sociétés industrialisées, Alfredo Longo s’approprie une matière usuelle riche en couleurs : la canette de boisson connue de tous, compressée et mise en forme selon son concept « Transform’ArtKompress ®».

Aujourd’hui, son art monumental est principalement orienté vers la reconscientisation du public à la notion de recyclage et vers la quête de sens du rôle de l’artiste dans la société contemporaine.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This