BUFFET

INFO

BUFFET

BIOGRAPHY

Bernard BUFFET 1928 – 1999

Born July 10, 1928 in Paris. In December 1943, he entered the National School of Fine Arts in Paris, where there are only two years. He later decides to work alone. Critics Prize Laureate in 1948, tied with Bernard Lorjou. He obtained in 1955 the first place in the referendum organized by the magazine Connaissance des Arts, designating the ten best painters of the postwar. In 1974, he was elected to the Academy of Fine Arts. His works are exhibited in Paris every year since 1947.

He made many special exhibitions abroad (New York, Chicago, Palm Beach, Montreal, Vancouver, Tokyo, Osaka, Johannesburg, London, Amsterdam, Brussels, Berlin, Warsaw, Basel, Zurich, Geneva, Rome, Venice, Milan, Madrid …).

Bernard Buffet is an Officer of the Legion of Honour and an Officer of Arts and Letters. He ended his days in his property Domaine de la Baume in Tourtour, in the Var, on 4 October 1999.

BERNARD BUFFET STAR OF PAINTING:

A brilliant and mundane artist, the painter experienced intense glory before being disowned by art and committing suicide in general indifference. The retrospective of the Museum of Modern Art attempts to rehabilitate this misunderstood artist.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

BUFFET

INFO

BUFFET

BIOGRAPHIE

Bernard BUFFET 1928 – 1999

Né le 10 juillet 1928 à Paris. En décembre 1943, il rentre à l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris où il ne reste que deux ans. Il décide par la suite de travailler seul. Lauréat du Prix de la Critique en 1948, ex aequo avec Bernard Lorjou. Il obtient en 1955 la première place au référendum organisé par la revue Connaissance des Arts, désignant les dix meilleurs peintres de l’après guerre. En 1974, il est élu à l’Académie des Beaux-Arts. Ses œuvres sont exposées à Paris, chaque année depuis 1947.

Il a fait de nombreuses expositions particulières à l’étranger (New York, Chicago, Palm Beach, Montréal, Vancouver, Tokyo, Osaka, Johannesbourg, Londres, Amsterdam, Bruxelles, Berlin, Varsovie, Bale, Zurich, Genève, Rome, Venise, Milan, Madrid…).

Bernard BUFFET est Officier de la Légion d’Honneur et Officier des Arts et Lettres. Il mit fin à ses jours dans sa propriété Le Domaine de la Baume à Tourtour, dans le Var, le 4 octobre 1999.

BERNARD BUFFET STAR DE LA PEINTURE :

Artiste brillant et mondain, le peintre a connu une gloire intense avant d’être renié par le milieu de l’art et de se suicider dans l’indifférence générale. La rétrospective du Musée d’Art Moderne tente de réhabiliter cet artiste incompris.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This