ALBEN

INFO

ALBEN

BIOGRAPHY

Alben, star honors in America … The Wall Street Journal …

Alben is a young artist Bordeaux. Self-taught, he exercises his activity as a painter in a studio located above a nightclub on the docks of Bordeaux ( “fabrick”). Fell in art from a young age, Alben was fed by the multiplicity of images, advertising and documentaries that criminalizes “contemporary mythologies.”

These large colorful paintings are directly inspired by the street art and graffiti, but also and especially American pop art of Andy Warhol, whom he admires above all. Hollywood icons, kings, old cars, superheroes … By accumulating images mostly taken from pop iconography from the 50s to today, Alben plays with kitsch, always subtly. This symbolism, which remains enigmatic, establishes an intimate and even spiritual relationship with the viewer.

In addition to paintings, made especially for the bomb and with stencils he makes himself one by one, Alben also features original sculptures. In fulfilling its busts in resin with objects from everyday life, candy or toys for children, Alben remembers his childhood and once again underlines a latent nostalgia, very present in his work.

It is simply the way of being of Alben, autonomous and independent artist. Indeed, his art can not suffer from any classification, any specific categorization may enclose his “maniera” in a specific register. He turned to a transcript of the contemporary immediacy, experimenting and inventing clean technology responsible for digesting forms to erect the status icons. We have to make “a designer craftsman”!

The only purpose of his art, but if we had to assign one, involves the transcription of a raw immediacy. The viewer is then transported in a space-time universe shifted. This touches the ironic vein of his work. Conditioned by a society where the quest for meaning is a leitmotiv, we find ourselves pushed around, if not poor, the face of this gross delivery of images, scripted and transformed through various technical, shattered the traditional cliches of ‘art.

The artist Alben has exhibited around Europe and the United States. He also creates installations in France. His works are in public and private collections in Paris, Dubai, Hong Kong, Australia, Bordeaux, London, Zurich, Italy, Mexico, New York, San Diego and Chicago.

With the release of one of his works in the Wall Street Journal, and a third exhibition in Spring Street, Alben is best known in New York and France.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

ALBEN

BIOGRAPHIE

Alben, star en Amérique…Les honneurs du Wall Street Journal…

Alben est un jeune artiste bordelais. Autodidacte, il exerce son activité d’artiste peintre dans un atelier situé au-dessus d’une boite de nuit sur les quais de Bordeaux (“fabrick”). Tombé dans l’art dès son plus jeune âge, Alben a été nourri par la multiplicité d’images, publicitaires et documentaires, qu’il érige en “mythologies contemporaines”.

Ces grandes toiles colorées s’inspirent directement de l’art de la rue et du graffiti, mais aussi du pop art américain et surtout d’Andy Warhol, qu’il admire par dessus tout. Icônes hollywoodiennes, rois, vieilles voitures, super-héros… En accumulant les images surtout tirées de l’iconographie pop des années 50 à aujourd’hui, Alben joue avec le kitsch, toujours avec subtilité. Cette symbolique, qui reste assez énigmatique, établit une relation intime et même spirituelle avec le spectateur.

En plus des peintures, réalisées surtout à la bombe et avec des pochoirs qu’il fabrique lui-même un à un, Alben présente aussi des sculptures originales. En remplissant ses bustes en résine avec des objets de la vie quotidienne, bonbons ou jouets d’enfants, Alben se remémore son enfance et souligne encore une fois une nostalgie latente, très présente dans son travail.

C’est simplement la façon d’être d’Alben, artiste autonome et indépendant. En effet, son art ne saurait souffrir d’aucune classification, d’aucune catégorisation spécifique, susceptible d’enfermer sa “maniera” dans un registre précis. Il s’oriente vers une retranscription de l’immédiateté contemporaine, en expérimentant et en inventant des techniques propres chargées de digérer des formes pour les ériger au rang d’icônes. Nous avons bien à faire à “un artisan concepteur” !

La seule vocation de son art, si toutefois il nous fallait en attribuer une, consiste en la retranscription d’une immédiateté brute. Le spectateur est, alors, transporté dans un univers spatio-temporel décalé. On touche ici la veine ironique de son œuvre. Conditionnés par une société où la quête de sens constitue un leitmotiv, nous nous retrouvons bousculés, pour ne pas dire démunis, face à cette livraison brute d’images qui, scénarisées et transformées au moyen de technique diverses, font éclater les poncifs traditionnels de l’art.

L’artiste a exposé tout autour de l’Europe et des Etats-Unis. Il a aussi crée des installations en France. Ses travaux font partie de collections publiques et privées à Paris, Dubai, Hong-Kong, Australie, Bordeaux, Londres, Zurich, Italie, Mexique, New York, San Diego et Chicago.

Avec la parution de l’une de ses œuvre dans le Wall Street Journal, et une troisième exposition dans Spring Street, Alben est plus connu à New-York qu’en France.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This