GNIDZAZ

INFO

GNIDZAZ

BIOGRAPHY

Gnidzaz is born in 1947 in Toulouse.

Jean-Michel Gnidzaz we especially know bi and three-dimensional abstract compositions that marked his work in the 1990 Making use of collage games and folding single sheets of paper, rigorous geometric arrangements of directly effective color contrasts, the artist then revivifiait kinetics on a tradition unspectacular fashion. Jean-Michel Gnidzaz thus inspired the conceptual essence of the work of Soto rather than their tendency to gigantism, and refused the sanitized accuracy of other painters of the kinetic movement in favor of a personal touch restoring an essential gesture at a certain performativity of painting. Through his research, Jean-Michel Gnidzaz was able to produce a strong work, able to stand out with impertinence of figureheads who staked his training at the School of Fine Arts in Toulouse and the beginnings of his artistic career.

After a decade of reflection devoted to geometric compositions, Jean-Michel Gnidzaz breaks today with the pure abstraction, and a new direction in his work. Since 2003, he initiated a new series of portraits dedicated to the cultural icons of the twentieth century. Struck by the persistence in the collective unconscious of certain images or photographs of major cultural figures of the twentieth century, in particular those facing rebellion synonymous with the established order, Jean-Michel Gnidzaz questions here their iconic status.

Neutralizing the background of the original photograph, recomposing the portrait from two games and trichromatic, flat tints and alternating colored stripes reintroducing some kinetics, he deprives these incunabula of contemporary history of identification too immediate.

So aside for a moment of consensus, respect agreed that their reserves usually these popular idols found some ability to belabor the viewer. The process grows to take a quick historical perspective to evolve our questions: what today would mean the beades, James Dean, or even Coluche in our society; what place they occupy in the minds of future generations; they escape the decorative status to which the commercial exploitation of their image relegated them? No, not yet have the answer, but the work of Jean-Michel Gnidzaz questions wisely.

This new series of portraits, and the flood of questions it raises arise fail as a new milestone in his artistic career and makes us curious to future developments.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

GNIDZAZ

INFO

GNIDZAZ

BIOGRAPHIE

Gnidzaz est né en 1947 à Toulouse.

Jean-Michel Gnidzaz on connaît surtout des compositions abstraites bi et tridimensionnelles qui ont marqué son travail dans les années 1990 Utilisant des jeux de collage et de pliage de feuilles de papier uniques, des arrangements géométriques rigoureux de contrastes de couleurs directement efficaces, l’artiste revivifiait alors une cinétique sur une tradition mode peu spectaculaire. Jean-Michel Gnidzaz a ainsi inspiré l’essence conceptuelle de l’œuvre de Soto plutôt que leur tendance au gigantisme, et a refusé la justesse aseptisée des autres peintres du mouvement cinétique au profit d’une touche personnelle restituant un geste essentiel à une certaine performativité de la peinture. Par ses recherches, Jean-Michel Gnidzaz a pu produire une œuvre forte, capable de se démarquer avec impertinence de figures de proue qui ont jalonné sa formation à l’École des Beaux-Arts de Toulouse et les débuts de sa carrière artistique.

Après une décennie de réflexion consacrée aux compositions géométriques, Jean-Michel Gnidzaz rompt aujourd’hui avec l’abstraction pure, et une nouvelle direction dans son travail. Depuis 2003, il a initié une nouvelle série de portraits dédiés aux icônes culturelles du XXe siècle. Frappé par la persistance dans l’inconscient collectif de certaines images ou photographies de grandes figures culturelles du XXe siècle, en particulier celles confrontées à une rébellion synonyme de l’ordre établi, Jean-Michel Gnidzaz questionne ici leur statut iconique.

Neutralisant le fond de la photographie originale, recomposant le portrait à partir de deux jeux et trichromatiques, des aplats et des bandes colorées alternées réintroduisant une certaine cinétique, il prive ces incunables d’une histoire contemporaine d’identification trop immédiate.

Alors à part pour un moment de consensus, le respect a convenu que leurs réserves généralement ces idoles populaires trouvaient une certaine capacité à insulter le spectateur. Le processus grandit pour prendre une perspective historique rapide pour faire évoluer nos questions: que signifieraient aujourd’hui les beades, James Dean, ou encore Coluche dans notre société; quelle place ils occupent dans l’esprit des générations futures; échappent-ils au statut décoratif auquel l’exploitation commerciale de leur image les a relégués? Non, pas encore la réponse, mais le travail de Jean-Michel Gnidzaz questionne sagement.

Cette nouvelle série de portraits, et le flot de questions qu’elle soulève, échouent comme une nouvelle étape dans sa carrière artistique et nous rend curieux des développements futurs.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This