RAYA SORKINE

INFO

RAYA SORKINE

BIOGRAPHY

Raya Sorkine was a French painter.

Alain-François Bouvier Cachard was born in 1936 in Paris. His artist name is Raya Sorkine, name and surname of his mother. The latter, a Jewish Russian immigrant, conveyed his Semitic and Slavic culture.

He saw in a joyous Jewish culture, punctuated by traditional festivals and music, the colors, the events and the atmosphere in his paintings resonate. Its culture is therefore essential influence.

But we see that his work is synonymous with diversity, developed since childhood, rocked by numerous trips and wars. Growing up, he continued traveling through Europe, and translated into his work all his knowledge of the world: it is the cultural difference that makes it grow, he and his work.

By immersing themselves completely in painting at age 22, he had no relationship that could help him in his approach. For over ten years, Raya Sorkine experienced misery, “a tent was my luxury.”

After his travels and its culture, its third source of inspiration is the woman. Four women and seven girls will all muses. The paintings are populated Raya Sorkine contrasts. While the eyes of the characters reflect the horror of the time (with the Holocaust, for example), the colors sing the hymn to life: yellow, red, green … They express a serene optimism.

Since 1962, he exhibited in galleries and museums both in France and abroad (Germany, Japan, USA …).

At the age of twelve, he left school and, barely fourteen years old, with a small sketchpad, he hit the road like a nomad. He sleeps under the stars. Europe, Scandinavia, the Middle East … it goes everywhere, drawing or painting.

Later he bought a caravan to continue his travels. Along his wandering life that lasts almost twenty years, it disperses in the world his many paintings, he married four women he has seven daughters.

Today, grandfather of four grandchildren, the painter has lost none of its primitiveness or its universalist mysticism. In his house in southern France, he likes to read texts of the Zohar or the Kabbalah.

He paints the night listening to “Music” (cosmic or religious). His painting is deeply and profoundly Jewish slave.

Admitted to Bénézit since 1971, Raya Sorkine is present in all international guides and its rating is regularly confirmed by Drouot auction of Versailles, Geneva, London …

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

RAYA SORKINE

INFO

RAYA SORKINE

BIOGRAPHIE

RAYA SORKINE EST UN PEINTRE FRANÇAIS.
Alain-François Bouvier de Cachard est né en 1936 à Paris.

Son nom d’artiste est Raya Sorkine, nom et prénom de sa mère. Cette dernière, émigrée russe juive, lui a transmis sa culture sémite et slave. Il vit donc sous une culture juive joyeuse, rythmée par des fêtes et musiques traditionnelles ; dont les couleurs, les événements et l’ambiance résonnent dans ses toiles.

Sa culture est donc l’influence essentielle.

Mais nous observons bien que son travail est synonyme de mixité, développée dès son enfance, bercée par de nombreux voyages et guerres. En grandissant, il continue les voyages à travers l’Europe, et traduit dans son travail toutes ses connaissances du monde : c’est la différence culturelle qui le fait grandir, lui et son œuvre.

En se plongeant totalement dans la peinture à 22 ans, il n’avait aucune relation qui pouvait l’aider dans sa démarche. Pendant plus de dix ans, Raya Sorkine a connu la misère : « une toile de tente était mon luxe ».

Après ses voyages et sa culture, sa troisième source d’inspiration est la femme. Ses quatre femmes et ses sept filles seront toutes ses muses.

Les peintures de Raya Sorkine sont peuplées de contrastes. Même si les yeux des personnages traduisent l’horreur de l’époque (avec la Shoah par exemple), les couleurs chantent l’hymne à la vie : du jaune, du rouge, du vert… Elles traduisent un optimisme serein.

Depuis 1962, il expose dans des galeries ou musées, aussi bien en France qu’à l’étranger (Allemagne, Japon, Etats-Unis…).

A l’âge de douze ans, il quitte l’école et, à peine âgé de quatorze ans, muni d’un petit carnet à dessin, il part sur les routes comme un nomade. Raya dort à la belle étoile. L’Europe, la Scandinavie, le Moyen-Orient…

Raya Sorkine va partout, en dessinant ou en peignant. Plus tard il achète une caravane pour poursuivre ses voyages. Le long de sa vie errante qui dure près de vingt ans, il disperse dans le monde ses nombreux tableaux, il épouse quatre femmes dont il a sept filles.

Aujourd’hui, grand-père de quatre petits-enfants, le peintre n’a rien perdu de sa primitivité ni de son mysticisme universaliste. Dans sa maison du Sud de la France, il aime à lire des textes du Zohar ou de la kabbale.

Il peint la nuit en écoutant “sa musique” (cosmique ou religieuse). Sa peinture est profondément slave et profondément juive.

Inscrit au Bénézit depuis 1971, Raya Sorkine est présent dans tous les guides internationaux et sa cote est régulièrement confirmée par des enchères de Drouot, Versailles, Genève, Londres…

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This